ld.exe: cannot find -lpq (having trouble getting started using postgresql library)

External libraries (GTK, GSL, SDL, Allegro, OpenGL, etc) questions.
andykmv

ld.exe: cannot find -lpq (having trouble getting started using postgresql library)

Post by andykmv »

Hello! i am having issues getting started using postgresql. this is my first time attempting to use a database library and i am attempting to use the postgres library.
I have a portable version of postgres installed (and subsequently also installed the current enterprise version) and i have 2 small databases setup and working on the portable version. these dbs work fine using pgadmin and with excel using the postgresql odbc driver.

i did a bit of reading and found the simple example program referred to here viewtopic.php?t=5712
when compiling, the error message i am getting is: R:\Data_PApps\FreeBASIC\bin\win64\ld.exe: cannot find -lpq
(i also tried compiling examples for sqlite2/3 and i get the same type of error)

but i just cant seem to find the relevant library files for win32 or win64, and/or to put the file in the right spot to get this example working, and i need some remedial help to get me over the line. (it also would be fair to say i havent used mingw tools for compiling much at all so i am unfamiliar with it).

Freebasic is installed either here: R:\FreeBASIC (32 bit) or here R:\data_Papps\freebasic (64bit)
MinGW is installed here: R:\mingw
Postgres portable is installed here: C:\Data_PApps\PostgreSQLPortable
i also installed postgres enterprise and read this https://www.postgresql.org/docs/current ... libpq.html