Game NPC AI ideas

Game development specific discussions.
leopardpm

Game NPC AI ideas

Post by leopardpm »

This thread was created as an off-shoot from another thread involving a discussion with Paul Doe. The main reason I am creating it is to get his (and others) feedback on different possible other approaches to achieving my 'end goal' in the creation of a complex Game NPC AI.

Before getting to this end goal, some quick background: I am an avid player of RTS(Warcraft 2/3, Age of Empires, etc), City-Building(Dwarf Fortress, Towns, Goblin Camp, etc) and MMORPG games genres. Besides gaming/programming, I am also a dedicated amatuer economist and enjoy reading articles/lectures/studies regarding economics. RTS games have kinda gone out of style, and MMORPG games have been stuck in a rut for 15 yrs. My thoughts are to combine the 3 genres, add in a dash of complex AI combined with actual economics, and solve the issues.

Problems with MMORPG's: (not necessarily in the order of degree...)
#1 - Content Creation: It takes a huge ($) investment to generate new content for players to explore and solve. It is slow and, in the end, becomes repetitive since it is all created within the same framework/context of the original setting/game.
#2 - Slow Periods: Though MMO's can have 1,000's of total players, at any given moment, in any given area, there can possibly no one around. This is boring for players looking to group up and do things with. Ultimately, if a minimal level of players are not participating, players will quit playing and move on to the 'next thing'...