Reinventing the wheel

General discussion for topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
xlucas

Reinventing the wheel

Post by xlucas »

Not sure if this should go here or in "Programming". It really is about programming, but it's a philosophical topic, so... that's why.

Since I started programming, about 25 years ago, I have been criticised a few times for one particular thing and I've seen other being criticised for that same thing. It's the typical "Why are you trying to reinvent the wheel?" or "There's no point in doing that, when there is this other thing". I've been thinking hard about this through the years and now I'm feeling like I can write about it.

I've realised I have a tendency to reinvent the wheel... and I've realised I'm one of many. I don't do this because I don't understand the tools that are available or because I dislike other people's work. I do this because I feel that the part that is fun about programming is the creative aspect. To me, if a tool already exists, that doesn't make it useless that I create something similar. Of course, my work may be unnecessary for others, but it does a certain good service to me and I think that many programmers can benefit from reinventing the wheel. It will make them feel better and it will be good practice. It will make them learn. I will make them aware of how something works internally when they decide to use it as a tool.