Container library for FreeBASIC?

General discussion for topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
Cretin Ho

Container library for FreeBASIC?

Post by Cretin Ho »

I need a container library for FreeBASIC, that provides data structures such as C++ vector, dynamic array, map, queue,...

I'm still new to language so I don't know where to search for something like that. Thanks.
Cretin Ho

Re: Container library for FreeBASIC?

Post by Cretin Ho »

Is this library what I'm looking for? The name contains "List", the code is too complex for me to understand.

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=26533
Lost Zergling

Post by Lost Zergling »

Dynamic arrays already exist. Arrays can be indexed directly according to a C ++ syntax, but indeed the so-called "high level" functions are not the core of the language and require the use of libraries. LZLE (stable, in progress) and LZAE (wip, incomplete) undoubtedly address some of the problems that you mention (notably via lists), but in a spirit and a syntax which want to be accessible and in accordance with the idea that I myself do what Basic can still be, that is to say by favoring the versatile and easy side, and by considering memory dynamics as a programming element rather than as a constraint on which the end user must be able to make the abstraction. The way of doing Basic sort of, with a little coding, that might do the job most of the time but that's probably exactly not what you're looking for. The functional scope is nevertheless extended, user feedback is welcome. It should be possible to find work and brainstorming on arrays (topic "new array features"). Other libraries undoubtedly exist.
Added :
"Is this library what I'm looking for? The name contains "List", the code is too complex for me to understand."