Getting the true unicode code

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
Morthawt

Getting the true unicode code

Post by Morthawt »

Hi. I am new to this coming from an autoit scripting looking for more power and speed. I am trying to get the unicode code for characters so I can build my base64 converter in freebasic to compare speeds etc.

The issue I am having is that when I ask for a unicode number for a character with Asc it is giving me totally incorrect numbers. The € symbol reads as it being number 128 when I print its value using Asc. I was on the wiki for UTF trying to add up the binary and it being way off so I did some searching and found the true number for € is actually 8364.

What function/command etc do I need to actually get a unicode number? The Asc says it does but obviously it doesn't. I cannot manually create unicode base 2 binary if the number Asc gives me is not accurate.

Thanks in advance.
Morthawt

Getting the real unicode code for characters

Post by Morthawt »

I just made a post but its missing and must have errored out because it is not showing up on my profile.

Basically I am asking how do you get the REAL unicode code for a character because Asc is giving incorrect numbers. € shows as number 128 when really it is 8364. I have verified this online and by using Autoit's wAsc feature. So far freebasic only shows me wrong numbers even though it says it will give me unicode numbers.

The purpose for me needing this is so I can manually generate and decode UTF-8 base 2 8-bit binary for my base64 converter.

If you could help me out I would appreciate it, I am new to this coming only from Autoit scripting.

Thanks
counting_pine
Site Admin

Re: Getting the real unicode code for characters

Post by counting_pine »

Hi Morthawt, welcome to the forum :)
Morthawt wrote:I just made a post but its missing and must have errored out because it is not showing up on my profile.