Some beginner questions

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
misterc

Some beginner questions

Post by misterc »

I'm a beginner to FreeBASIC and am enjoying it so far (Linux x86_64 w/ Geany). I have some beginner-level questions:

1. Where do I find out all the functions available to me through various libraries, like vbcompat, and any others? I see references to them, but am not sure where I can find the contents themselves.

2. How do I make my own include file for my own functions that I use all the time? Any best practices?

3. If I want to modify data that is provided to a Sub, rather than working on a copy of that data, do I always need to explicitly indicate ByRef?

4. The code below raises two errors with the compiler. I know I'm probably doing this the "PHP" way, but in addition to figuring out why the length won't print out, I'm looking for a way to get the type returned by a function, in order to troubleshoot its use. I thought I'd try TypeOf for that but I'm not sure how it's used (below).

Code: Select all

'Show the length of input text
Dim as String MyName, FileName

Dim as Integer NameLength, MyVar

Print "Hello world!"

Input "What's your name? ", MyName

MyVar = LEN(MyName)

'ERROR 3:  Line below raises error: Unexpected EOL. Why?
Print TypeOf(MyVar)

'ERROR 20: Line below raises error: Type mismatch, found '+' ...why?
Print "Hello, " + MyName + ". " + "Your name is " + NameLength + " letters long." 
5. Testing SDL using some code from the German FreeBASIC site, I get an error: Line 21, Error 41: Variable not declared, IMG_Load. But I think it is declared on line 20?

' The following code loads an avatar.png and then displays it, waits for a keystroke, and then quits:
#INCLUDE "SDL\SDL.bi"                   'SDL inkludieren.
#DEFINE xmax 640                        'Fensterweite
#DEFINE ymax 480                        'Fensterhöhe

DIM SHARED video AS SDL_Surface PTR     'Pointer auf den späteren Fensterpuffer.