Quantum random floats in your applications

General FreeBASIC programming questions.
SARG
Posts: 1230
Joined: May 27, 2005 7:15
Location: FRANCE

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby SARG » Jan 08, 2021 21:48

Yeah I can see them. However I had to close and reopen Chrome, F5 was not enough. Image
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 2846
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jan 08, 2021 21:55

Image
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 2846
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jan 08, 2021 23:41

At the moment we just have one sequence - 16MBQNums.dat. We can create a different sequence by shuffling. There exists 16MB! ( ! = factorial ) different sequences. That is a huge number. If we shuffled using a generator with a period of 2^32 then we can only produce 2^32 different sequences. There are no restrictions if we use a cryptographic generator to do the shuffling.

The following code will take 16MBQNums.dat, shuffle it and save as 16MBQNums1.dat. We can repeat outputting to 16MBQNums2.dat and so on.

The new sequences will be different to 16MBQNums.dat.

Code: Select all

#define _16MB 16777216
 
#include "E:\FreeBASIC\CryptoRnd\CryptoRndII.bas" ' Whatever your path is.
 
Sub KnuthShuffle( a() As Double )
  For i As Long = 1 To _16MB - 1
    Swap a(i), a( CryptoR( i, _16MB ) )
  Next
End Sub
 
Dim Shared _Rnd( 1 to _16MB ) As Double
 
Open "16MBQNums.dat" For Binary As #1
  Get #1, , _Rnd()
Close #1
 
KnuthShuffle( _Rnd() )
 
Open "16MBQNums1.dat" For Binary As #1
  Put #1, , _Rnd()
Close #1
 
Print "Done"
Sleep

Your code could choose from as many new sequences as you create.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 2846
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jan 18, 2021 18:05

I have just dumped https - it is a nightmare.

I cannot get my FTP client, FileZilla, to open my website. I tried four different protocols and four different ports.

My web builder needs the configuration changing else I will not be able to edit my website.

Apologies to Google Chrome users, but your inconvenience is much less than mine. Whilst we are on the subject you do know that Chrome reports back to mother on nearly everything you do. A guy at PowerBASIC learnt the other day that Google not only scans his GMail but also his attachments. He is not a happy sausage! Me - I use Firefox and their VPN.
srvaldez
Posts: 2640
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby srvaldez » Jan 18, 2021 19:41

I used Chrome but somehow it would always get corrupted so I switched to FireFox, I am happy with it, one thing I like is the facility to backup/restore bookmarks, I stay away from syncing as you never know what you will end up with
BTW, I see your smileys just fine
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 2846
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jan 19, 2021 1:47

I am back on https again. Image

There are some guys at the PowerBASIC forum who are extremely Internet savvy. Three guys got involved and the issue was not with https or FileZilla but with Cloudfare applying a proxy. I was shown how to disable that the result being:
Image
and FileZilla working as it has done for many years.

However, with the two images above I had to use 'http://' and that is in the Page Source so there may still be an issue with displaying in Google Chrome. If I use 'https://', then that is found in the Page Source, but we get 'image' as a placeholder and no emoji. So, the forum software forces 'http://' and Google Chrome will probably say "Oh, I am not having that".

I will have to stay with https since "https helps protect the download from being modified by a man-in-the-middle." said one of the guys at PowerBASIC. Since I am talking about my Encrypternet application that is the last thing that I want.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 2846
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jan 19, 2021 2:42

Remember the Win98 days? Any issues were often solved by Restarting the system, so I did.

The forum software will now accept https.

So, what was the real problem? Closing something did the trick but what I have no idea.

Flaming heck. Image

@SARG

Can you see the images in my last two posts? The reason I ask is that all three have an image location using https but the first two use http in the Page Source and the last one uses https in the Page Source which tells me that the forum software is getting its knickers in a twist.
SARG
Posts: 1230
Joined: May 27, 2005 7:15
Location: FRANCE

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby SARG » Jan 19, 2021 8:32

deltarho[1859] wrote:@SARG

Can you see the images in my last two posts? The reason I ask is that all three have an image location using https but the first two use http in the Page Source and the last one uses https in the Page Source which tells me that the forum software is getting its knickers in a twist.

I can see the 3 images (2 smileys and the 'deltarho.org..') without any problem on my PC and smartphone, both using Chrome.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 2846
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK

Re: Quantum random floats in your applications

Postby deltarho[1859] » Jan 19, 2021 12:08

SARG wrote:I can see the 3 images (2 smileys and the 'deltarho.org..') without any problem on my PC and smartphone, both using Chrome.

That is great news. Thanks for letting me know, SARG. Image

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests