Difficulties in DOS on real hardware

DOS specific questions.
keenmaster486

Difficulties in DOS on real hardware

Post by keenmaster486 »

Hello,

I've been developing a game engine in FB DOS for several months, using FBGFX. I have found that, while the program always works perfectly in DOSBox, it's a pain in the rear end to get it to run on real hardware, and oftentimes it's a total crapshoot whether or not it will run, even on machines with identical processors, RAM, and software, but different motherboards, etc.

Same thing with emulators such as 86Box, PCem, etc. On some configurations I can get it to run on the target machines (386, 486), but most of the time the engine will throw a GPF or some other such error.

One of the most egregious problems for a long time had been that any code produced with FBC, no matter what the compiler flags, would fail to be able to set the screen resolution on a plain Pentium. Not Pentium-MMX, or 486, or even 386, just a plain Pentium. It would throw an invalid opcode whenever a SCREEN or ScreenRes call was made, no matter what the requested screen resolution. The issue could be reproduced by simply creating a blank .bas file that does nothing but a SCREEN 13, or ScreenRes 320,200,8, or SCREEN 7, or whatever, call. This issue was only just fixed in the latest version (1.06), so there's that. I'm glad it was fixed; now my engine runs on plain Pentiums.

But it still has some issues. I think it may have something to do with how FBGFX is initializing things. I have heard something about an IRQ0 timer that may be causing issues.

After extensive testing I have also determined that software configuration DOES NOT MATTER. If it works at all, it will work great with whatever you throw at it - no XMS manager at all, HIMEM, JEMMEX, EMM386, etc, etc. If it doesn't work, it doesn't work, period, and no amount of changing your memory management configuration or even booting straight to command prompt will make it work.