Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Windows specific questions.
Post Reply
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

@srvaldez

It is hardly a "huge embarrassment" if it turns out that there is a bug in gcc.
so there's hope for using the newer gcc toolchain.
Great news.
btw, I left you a pm in the PB forum, in case you are interested in testing this version.
Of course I am interested.

Getting a pm at PB confused me at first. I wish FB had a pm facilty like PB.

There is a better way. You can email me. To avoid hackers getting at my email address this is how it is made up.

dr
@
deltarho.uk

Image
srvaldez
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sep 25, 2005 21:54

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by srvaldez »

ok, got it :-)
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

When I changed from four pairs of compiler paths to six pairs not all of the references to four got changed to six. This bug would not manifest itself if we did not use more than four.

To save navigating for the links here they are:

SetCompilerPaths.zip Standard font size used
SetCompilerPathsL.zip Larger font size used
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

@srvaldez

I have just tried your gcc 10.0 32-bit/64-bit on Encrypternet without errors or warnings.

I cannot believe I have just used gcc 10.0. Amazing. Image

However, this is not the thread to be discussing this.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

Just for the record this is what my SetCompilerPathsL looks like at the moment.

Image

@srvaldez

You may have 'dumped' your three builds but I haven't - my choice. They have not put a foot wrong yet. If we use third party code which has a bug in it and our application does not use the offending piece of code then we won't have a bug - a deltarho maxim. Image The 1.08 entry is the latest 1.07 ST_W build. Well it was at 3 Sept - I see that St_W has sneaked another one in at 9 Sept.

Breaking news: Paul Squires may include SetCompilerPaths functionality within WinFBE without the need for a tool.
MrSwiss
Posts: 3910
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by MrSwiss »

It must be noted that we have a "very old" IDE, that handles that issue, without the problems
the "newer" IDE's seem to have: FBEdit *lets you switch compiler path at will, any time*.
Arachnphilia
Posts: 5
Joined: Sep 10, 2019 10:37

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by Arachnphilia »

Hello David

..... me again.
A dynamic width of the window would be helpful again.
With me only \WinFBE_Su is displayed.
The rest is cut off.
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

Arachnphilia wrote:With me only \WinFBE_Su is displayed.
Are you referring to the first string of the ini file?
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

Yours truly wrote:Are you referring to the first string of the ini file?
I feel sure that you are.

In the above I wrote " The first string is simply "WinFBE" ". I didn't say that "WinFBE" was configurable - perhaps I should have made it clear that it wasn't. It is actually a flag. SetCompilerPaths was written to work with both WinFBE and poseidonFB, so we would have one download for both IDEs. I never mentioned that the first string should be "poseidonFB" in the poseidonFB thread because Kuan Hsu came up with his method.

I am fairly confident that Paul Squires will include SetCompilerPaths functionality within WinFBE making this thread redundant. The poseidonFB thread became redundant when Kuan Hsu published his method.

I have decided to do no further work with SetCompilerPaths as it is likely to have a short life expectancy.

My code will then die but my idea will live on because the expected outcome is for both IDEs to have the ability to change compiler paths 'on the fly' and make the change in just a few seconds; as opposed to a tedious navigation to the compiler path that FBEdit requires, provided, of course, we can remember where they are.Image
MrSwiss
Posts: 3910
Joined: Jun 02, 2013 9:27
Location: Switzerland

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by MrSwiss »

as opposed to a tedious navigation to the compiler path that FBEdit requires, provided, of course, we can remember where they are.
Nobody can help you, in case your compilers are "all over the show" on your storage medium ... :rofl:
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

I see that you have not changed, MrSwiss, and you are showing the forum just that. How irksome it must be for you that both Kuan Hsu and Paul Squires have embraced my idea and coderJeff seemed to be taken by it.
Josep Roca
Posts: 564
Joined: Sep 27, 2016 18:20
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by Josep Roca »

Dogs bark but the caravan goes on.
Arachnphilia
Posts: 5
Joined: Sep 10, 2019 10:37

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by Arachnphilia »

Hello David

My objection has been settled. :-)

It works.

I have a link for all experimental programmers / testers where you can download weekly snapshots from GCC.

http://www.equation.com/servlet/equation.cmd?fa=fortran

Unfortunately, the thread has taken an unsightly turn, so that I also leave out further post.

___________________________
Arachnophilia
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

Josep Roca wrote:Dogs bark but the caravan goes on.
Image

That is how to do a :rofl:, bit more effort but worth it. Image
deltarho[1859]
Posts: 4310
Joined: Jan 02, 2017 0:34
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Setting gcc compiler for WinFBE

Post by deltarho[1859] »

@Arachnophilia

srvaldez found that link a few weeks back.

I have another version of SetCompilerPaths. SetCompilerPaths.exe uses a 'normal' font size; renaming it to SetCompilerpathsL.exe uses a larger font size. I did that for the fun of it. However, I won't bother to post it because, as I mentioned above, I expect it to have a short life expectancy.
Post Reply