FbEdit, new IDE for FreeBASIC written in FreeBASIC

User projects written in or related to FreeBASIC.
Post Reply
Dinosaur
Posts: 1481
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay (.au)

Post by Dinosaur »

Hi all

I need to go back to an earlier version as well.
The latest version is causing problems on XP that I havent nailed down yet.
The symptoms are hanging, and then one typical example is whilst typing in the following, it hangs on the full stop (but never prints it.
If Times.mSec
However, the site shows detail of earlier versions, but cant seem to download it.
The only way to get that statement in, is to type it elsewhere, and copy and paste.

REgards
KetilO
Posts: 416
Joined: Sep 22, 2005 21:48
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by KetilO »

Hi WATANABE

On win95 common controls version 4.71 is the minimum needed (came with internet explorer 4.0).
If your version of common controls is 4.71 or higher then it might be a bug in FbEdit.

Let me know your version of comctl32.dll

KetilO
KetilO
Posts: 416
Joined: Sep 22, 2005 21:48
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by KetilO »

Hi Kot

If you in Project Options check the Start Cmd.exe box then the console window will stay open and you can read the error messages.

KetilO
KetilO
Posts: 416
Joined: Sep 22, 2005 21:48
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by KetilO »

Hi Dinosaur

What is Times?
Namespace, Class or plain structure?

KetilO
Dinosaur
Posts: 1481
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay (.au)

Post by Dinosaur »

Hi Ketil0

It is a udt.

Code: Select all

Type TIMES
	Sec			As  UInteger
	OldSec		As  UInteger
	mSec		AS	UInteger
	OldmSec		As  ULongInt
	Increment	AS	UInteger
	Debug		As  Integer				 	  
End TYPE							
Where can I download the earlier version ?

Regards
KetilO
Posts: 416
Joined: Sep 22, 2005 21:48
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by KetilO »

Hi Dinosaur

It does not hang here. I probably need your project to find out more.
If you email me your project then I can send you FbEdit 1075

KetilO
Dinosaur
Posts: 1481
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay (.au)

Post by Dinosaur »

Hi Ketilo

It hasn't done it with me since either.
Times does seem to be a problem word, as typing the name of the udt and the then the period (full stop) will not always open the small window to choose the element of the udt.(with insert ON)
However with other udt's it always works.

I will keep an eye and try to isolate it.

Regards
EDIT: Problems happen when I use Debug with breakpoints. After that, this time I couldnt quit FBEdit, had to use Ctrl Alt Del to stop it. This is one of the problems I had on my laptop on site last week. Now the same on my desktop.
bcohio2001
Posts: 556
Joined: Mar 10, 2007 15:44
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by bcohio2001 »

I know that you can create a "pop up" menu by:

Code: Select all

			hPopMenu = CreatePopupMenu()
			'
			AppendMenu( hPopMenu, MF_STRING, 12001, "Open" )
			AppendMenu( hPopMenu, MF_SEPARATOR, 0, 0 )
'
'
'

Then activate it by:

Code: Select all

					Case NM_RCLICK
						'Print "Right click"
						x = nmlv->ptAction.x
						y = nmlv->ptAction.y
						GetWindowRect( nmhdr->hwndFrom, @rc )

						'TPM_HORPOSANIMATION, _
						x = TrackPopupMenu( hPopMenu, _
						TPM_LEFTALIGN Or _
						TPM_RETURNCMD Or _
						TPM_TOPALIGN,_' Or _
						rc.left+x, _
						rc.top+y, _
						0, _
						hWin, _
						0 )
						'
Used FBEdit to create a menu to use for pop up, where or how to link the two.
hPopMenu = ??????(IDR_MENUPop)
Makoto WATANABE
Posts: 231
Joined: Apr 10, 2010 11:41
Location: Japan
Contact:

Post by Makoto WATANABE »

Hi KetilO
Thanks for your reply.
My version of comctl32.dll is 5.81 on Win95.
Please inform me, if you need to know anything.
bcohio2001
Posts: 556
Joined: Mar 10, 2007 15:44
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by bcohio2001 »

When creating a dialog window.

What control do I select, if there is any, to create a control for a "graphic" area. I am not looking to load a file, just a drawing area. Draw lines, circles..etc.

Any help here????
Last edited by bcohio2001 on May 22, 2010 0:26, edited 1 time in total.
Dinosaur
Posts: 1481
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 1:13
Location: Hervey Bay (.au)

Post by Dinosaur »

Hi all

Another example of the problems with the latest version.
I have two copies of FBedit open, and after editing and running only the first copy, I cant shut down the first copy. It closes all the files, except for one.
The only way to close it is to eliminate it from the Task Manager.
The second copy was used to copy and paste content to the first copy.

Regards
frisian
Posts: 249
Joined: Oct 08, 2009 17:25

some REMarks

Post by frisian »

Hi KetilO

I used Fbedit for more then year now and mostly for program running under console.
Because I first started whit basic in the 1980's.
Here are some things i

1.
Under code editor options you can set case convert to None, Mixed case, Lower case
Upper case. When selecting None, while typing keywords they stay as are typed but
when you do a format case convert through Ctrl+F12 keyword are converted in the
same way Mixed case works. (helpfile: None - No case converting will take place.)
When None is selected Ctrl+F12 can simple be ignored.

2.
Rem was once the only way to mark that the following text was a comment and not to
be seen as code. When lines starts with Rem Fbedit treats it not like ' or '/.
Case convert by means of Ctrl+F12 convert words that are keywords, only Rem
should be converted and rest simply ignored.

Example: mixed case selected
rem end if a=x becomes Rem End If a=x

3.
Assembler code disrupts indent, the following code is part of Richard's diag_mult_asm
function written in assembler code to replace the multipy function written in 1e9base.bas
program written in Free Basic.

........Asm

................mov ebx, eax ' conditional copy the total mod 1e18
................mov ecx, edx ' over bigger total in edx:eax
................inc edi ' carry += 1
................over_copy##k:
Sub dword Ptr [ia], 4 ' ia -= 1
Add dword Ptr [ib], 4 ' ib += 1
dec dword Ptr [count] ' count -= 1

........End Asm

(had to replace space with dots)

Sub is treated as Free Basic keyword moving the whole line to the left side as should be
where it a Free basic keyword but in this case it is not. Also case convert (mixed) has
converted words like Sub, Add as where they Free Basic keywords.
Perhaps it's time for a api for asm code keywords, treat everything as a Free Basic keyword
except when it is between Asm EndAsm then is assembler code.

4.
When a line contains the following code:

Dim as integer a, b, c

On the lower right side is window that shows functions, constants and variables
when showing variables the list is as follows

a:integer
b:integer
c:integer

when I type the following line

Dim as integer a=3, b=4, c=5

only one variable is shown

a:integer

b:integer and c:integer are gone. Does Fbedit get confused by =3 and treats it as
end of line instead of next variable?


Can you comment on points or have I mist some points in help file?
I can life whit 1 and 2 and I can work around point 4.
Only point 3 I would like to see fixed.
I have version 1.7.0.6 of Fbedit.


Regards


P.S.
In code editor option under colors: there is a option 'comments back' it seems to me
that this options is obsolete because comments has a option for foreground and
background color. (caught my eye when I was writing this piece.)
KetilO
Posts: 416
Joined: Sep 22, 2005 21:48
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by KetilO »

Hi frisian

A new release is on its way, probably by the end of next week.
All bygs you mention will be fixed.
Rem will NOT be supported so FbEdit will not recognize the line as commented.

Comments back behaves differently from background color.

KetilO
frisian
Posts: 249
Joined: Oct 08, 2009 17:25

Post by frisian »

Hi KetilO

Thanks for your reply. You where right on comments back did not see it because it had the
same color as text background.
abece
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 17, 2010 18:25

Post by abece »

Like Dinosaur, I occasionally have the problem with FBEdit not exiting correctly, where it closes all the files except for one, but needs to be killed in Task Manager. I can't remember if it was limited to just 1.0.7.6, but I seem to recall it happened in older versions. It happens when I have multiple instances of FbEdit open, but I don't know about the exact sequence of events.
Dinosaur wrote:
...It closes all the files, except for one.
The only way to close it is to eliminate it from the Task Manager...
Post Reply