Program code

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
j145poi
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 19, 2006 15:19

Program code

Post by j145poi »

When you want to type in a program do you just start typeing or do you do something else?
cha0s
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: May 27, 2005 6:42
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by cha0s »

start by planning out exactly what you want. 99% of the time youll get better results. and you can constantly refine once you implement something also.
v1ctor
Site Admin
Posts: 3804
Joined: May 27, 2005 8:08
Location: SP / Bra[s]il
Contact:

Post by v1ctor »

Is this just me or that looks like a bot? Always making questions and never answering anything..

j145poi, reply to this message to prove your are not a spam bot (while there's no url to some scam site in your profile, it could be a bad written bot, who knows :P), thanks..
VonGodric
Posts: 997
Joined: May 27, 2005 9:06
Location: London
Contact:

Post by VonGodric »

sometimes I just sit and code
Last edited by VonGodric on Jan 21, 2006 23:50, edited 1 time in total.
j145poi
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 19, 2006 15:19

Post by j145poi »

Do you have to use an editor?
whitetiger0990
Posts: 92
Joined: May 27, 2005 12:34
Location: Universe, Milky Way, Sol III, North-East Hemisphere, North America, USA, ., Chair
Contact:

Post by whitetiger0990 »

j145poi wrote:Do you have to use an editor?
No. But if you want to program it's recommended.




=|
VirusScanner
Posts: 775
Joined: Jul 01, 2005 18:45

Post by VirusScanner »

Nope, of course you don't have to use an editor. Just buy some hardware at the local computer store, get a sauldering iron and go to work! Then hook it to your computer, and assuming it registers as the M drive, type "fbc M:\myprogram.bas"

But seriously, this sounds like an odd question, very sorry if you're a person.
Is this just me or that looks like a bot? Always making questions and never answering anything..
Just in case you didn't notice.
counting_pine
Site Admin
Posts: 6323
Joined: Jul 05, 2005 17:32
Location: Manchester, Lancs

Post by counting_pine »

Does echo print "hello world" > hello.bas count as using an editor :)
inded005
Posts: 126
Joined: Jan 04, 2006 5:43
Location: Kingaroy Australia

Post by inded005 »

lol hmmm
not really, editing implies a tool for changing text...
that's just dumping into a file... or is it?
I think you could be onto something! The next rival to FBIDE!!

j145poi, i hate your name.... but you need to write a program using ANYTHING that makes text appear on your screen and then save it, then compile it to make it RUN
Frank Cox
Posts: 58
Joined: Nov 16, 2005 21:20

Post by Frank Cox »

Real men write programs by magnetizing a needle and then changing the bits directly on the hard drive platter.
ytwinky
Posts: 217
Joined: Dec 03, 2005 12:44
Location: MD, Germany

Post by ytwinky »

Frank Cox wrote:Real men write programs by magnetizing a needle and then changing the bits directly on the hard drive platter.
In case you didn't know: http://www.pbm.com/~lindahl/real.programmers.html
(I know, this a very old one.. ;) )
@counting_pine:
well you could easily install doskey, use the commandhistory to get your input-line back and change(ooh, for a moment I wanted to use 'edit'..) your input if anything had gone wrong..
You can also type more lines and append them to your file using '>>'
But before you start repeating your commands I suggest to 'type' your file first :lol:
You're on a excellent way to build your own DOS-GUI..
But:
inded005 wrote:not really, editing implies a tool for changing text...
..and that's it: as soon as you install doskey you are using a 'TOOL'..
..and are again far away from your own GUI :rofl:
regards
ytwinky
j145poi
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 19, 2006 15:19

Post by j145poi »

If you want to start writeing do you have to use an editor or do you just type the code from the prompt? And how do you write a spam bot and what do they do?
red_Marvin
Posts: 201
Joined: Nov 13, 2005 11:37
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by red_Marvin »

I'm sorry, but spam bots and viruses isn't taught until year 34, and by coincidence
it is in the same classroom as "How to get to the 7th level of Dante's hell 101".
Edit:
Hmm you could always start with

Code: Select all

INPUT "What do you want to spam?: ",spam$
OPEN "internet" FOR OUTPUT AS #1
DO
PRINT #1, spam$
LOOP WHILE INKEY$=""
CLOSE
-~-

Now, seriously, why are you asking 1) How to make a virus (another thread) 2) How to
make a spam bot (especially since you also ask what it does)?[/code]

Edit 2:
Tha google feeds us our dayly information fix. http://www.jinxhackwear.com/forum/topic ... C_ID=44818
Dr_D
Posts: 2451
Joined: May 27, 2005 4:59
Contact:

Post by Dr_D »

cha0s wrote:start by planning out exactly what you want. 99% of the time youll get better results. and you can constantly refine once you implement something also.

j145poi, since you've proven that you aren't a bot, what exactly do you want to make?
cha0s
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: May 27, 2005 6:42
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by cha0s »

thank god stupidty prevents its hosts from doing anything sneaky, most of the time. phew...
Post Reply