Some questions about FB DOS version

DOS specific questions.
Post Reply
Mr.Panda
Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 06, 2005 7:47

Some questions about FB DOS version

Post by Mr.Panda »

(1)I downloaded FB 0.13b for DOS, and unzip to FreeDOS. but I found
some files are over 8.3 filename format, for example:CHANGELOG.TXT
in FreeDos looks like CHANGELO.TXT, that's ok, because it's just a text
file. However in the lib\dos directory, such as libtinyptc.a, would it
cause some problems during compiling?

(2)If a statement is too long, how can I combine two or three sentences?
Use "-" ? As I know some basic don't support this.Or I just write over
the screen boundary?

(3)Is there no difference between upper-case and lower-case?
for instance: cls and CLS. In QB, it turns all to upper-case, but in
EDIT.EXE, you may take care of yourself.

(4)What's is the mininal size of FreeBASIC? Seems to some files I don't
need. I tried to put fbc.exe in a individual directory, but it does't work.

(5)Cound I ask the next release of FreeBasic including IDE and HELP files?

Thanks a lot :)
D.J.Peters
Posts: 8586
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28
Contact:

Re: Some questions about FB DOS version

Post by D.J.Peters »

Hi Mr.Panda,

(Sorry bad english!)

(1) i use linux

(2) sub mysuperlongsub (byval aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa as integer, _
byval ccccccccccccccccccccccccc as integer, _
byval ddddddddddddddddddddd as integer)

(3)lowercase = LOWERCASE = LoWeRcAsE

(4)I hope other DOS users can help you to make a shorter FB version.

(5)Currently an IDE is not a part from FreeBASIC.

"and HELP files?"

Try the online FB wiki.
http://www.freebasic.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=DocToc

Have a nice time.

Joshy
Nexinarus
Posts: 146
Joined: May 28, 2005 6:08
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Post by Nexinarus »

1) Yeah that is a bit silly, the DOS port should be for DOS and not DOS running under windows XP or what not. It's not hard to rename the files to 8.3 format.

...

4) The minimal size of FB would be just fbc.exe, the inc folder, the lib folder, and the bin folder. Even mroe space can be saved by removing the 'extra' libraries and the matching include files. The only lib's needed i suppose would be libfb.a, not sure if any include files are needed.
jdebord
Posts: 547
Joined: May 27, 2005 6:20
Location: Limoges, France
Contact:

Post by jdebord »

You also need CWSDPMI.EXE to run under plain DOS. If I remember correctly it's not included in the distribution.
Nexinarus
Posts: 146
Joined: May 28, 2005 6:08
Location: Everywhere
Contact:

Post by Nexinarus »

As a side note - this made me want to make lite editions with only what you need; Chekc it out -> http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=433
DrV
Site Admin
Posts: 2116
Joined: May 27, 2005 18:39
Location: Midwestern USA
Contact:

Post by DrV »

1.) The DOS port uses long filenames because the Win32 port came first; just use Windows or the DOSLFN driver, or if you must use plain DOS without long filenames, make sure they get truncated (libtinyptc.a -> LIBTINYP.A) and not shortened with Windows' tilde method (libtinyptc.a -> LIBTIN~1.A or similar).

4.) The least files you need to have a working compiler to make just .EXEs (not static libs) are fbc.exe, bin\as.exe, bin\ld.exe, bin\i386go32.x, lib\dos\libfb.a, lib\dos\libc.a, lib\dos\crt0.o, and CWSDPMI.EXE (off the top of my head, but that should cover it). Of course, if you want to do anything beyond text input and output, you'll need some additional libraries and headers. The DOS gfxlib is still 'under construction'.

5.) Maybe if you or someone else contributes them. :) I personally use metapad on WinXP for all of my development (including DOS development, oxymoronic as that may seem) and I browse the wiki if I need FreeBASIC help.
Mr.Panda
Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 06, 2005 7:47

Post by Mr.Panda »

Thanks everyone,
those answers are really what I need :)
Acutally, My computer is FreeDOS9/Debian Sarge, but I am a
newbie to Linux, this is why I download FB DOS Version.

Well... in my memory, FreeDOS support FAT32 long filename
(need to install), and CWSDPMI.EXE is alreay in fdos\bin.
Until now, there is no problems while I compiling programs.
FreeBASIC in FreeDOS, perfect!
Thanks again.
Post Reply