Bye Bye

General discussion for topics related to the FreeBASIC project or its community.
operator+

Bye Bye

Post by operator+ »

I tried my best to learn FreeBASIC but I simply can't. I can't deal with a language that I have to read lengthy wiki pages only to get a glimpse of what it's actually mean and does. There are so many hidden magics that sometimes I read code I can't even know what he is actually writting. The moderator @fxm has to constantly update the wiki to cover these newly discovered magics. Regarding this, I think FreeBASIC is as bad as C.

Maybe I'm stupid, but I prefer language that what it is is what it is like Java. Looking at Java code I immediately understand what it's doing without having to consult lengthy Oracle document (sometime I have to, but it's very advanced language features that not commonly use). I have no problem reading average Java code, but with average FreeBASIC code, I do.

Another problem with the FreeBASIC community is... Uhm, I'm not good at English. I will give an example. There are Rust based libraries, Go based libraries that so desirable so the people of other languages have to create bindings to use them with their languages. I think there will be never such story with FreeBASIC. The FreeBASIC community has many talents could write wonderful code that people from other languages really desire to have. But creating bindings to their languages is really difficult because the library developer ASSUMED his library to be used within FreeBASIC only so he pays no attention to C compatibility. C compatibility is a must have bridge to be able to create bindings to other languages. (*)