[solved] FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

DOS specific questions.
Post Reply
D.J.Peters
Posts: 8586
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28
Contact:

[solved] FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

Post by D.J.Peters »

I got 6 thin clients from ebay for only 30$
they have 1GHz CPU (passive colling) 2GB RAM and 4GB IDE RAM drives I got SLAX/debian, MenuetOS, KolibriOS installed and all works including the PS2 keyboard and PS2 mouse.
Now I try FreeBASIC with FreeDOS but the PS2 mouse arrow doesn't move and I don't get any error message if I install the CTMOUSE driver.

(Isn't a FreeBASIC problem if I use edit.exe the mouse char doesn't move also)

Any Idea whats going wrong here ?

Joshy
Last edited by D.J.Peters on Jun 18, 2022 8:00, edited 1 time in total.
angros47
Posts: 2331
Joined: Jun 21, 2005 19:04

Re: FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

Post by angros47 »

Have you tried using a different driver? Like the Microsoft drivers for Ms-DOS?

From what you said, it seems that the issue is in CTMOUSE (if with other drivers the mouse works you might have to file a bug report)
D.J.Peters
Posts: 8586
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28
Contact:

Re: FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

Post by D.J.Peters »

angros47 wrote: Jun 16, 2022 18:07the Microsoft drivers for Ms-DOS
Is it a part of a full installation FreeDOS if so what is the name of the driver ?

Joshy
angros47
Posts: 2331
Joined: Jun 21, 2005 19:04

Re: FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

Post by angros47 »

Being a proprietary software, it is not part of FreeDos

It should be available here: https://winworldpc.com/product/microsoft-mouse/
D.J.Peters
Posts: 8586
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28
Contact:

Re: FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

Post by D.J.Peters »

@angros47
thank you I will try it if I'm back home

Joshy
NorbyDroid
Posts: 72
Joined: May 21, 2016 22:55

Re: FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

Post by NorbyDroid »

If ya havent subscribed, one great resource for freeDos is the FreeDos mailing list where ya get emails where people talk about FreeDos, programs, asks for help, etc.

https://www.freedos.org/lists/

Currently I don’t have a pc with the old ps/2 port I can test with.
D.J.Peters
Posts: 8586
Joined: May 28, 2005 3:28
Contact:

Re: FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

Post by D.J.Peters »

The Microsoft mouse driver doesn't show any mouse arrow (so it was not resident installed)
The FreeDOS driver ctmouse printed "installed as PS2" the arrow was shown but not moved.
Than i replaced the optical PS2 mouse and plugged a old ball PS2 mouse in and it works :-)

Strange if I boot another OS like Linux or the pure assembler OS Menuet or Kolibri the optical mouse works without any problems.
Maybe a DOS TSR mouse driver must trigger this optical mouse faster than a ball or serial mouse.

Joshy
marcov
Posts: 3465
Joined: Jun 16, 2005 9:45
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [solved] FreeDOS CTMOUSE PS2 mouse does not work here :-(

Post by marcov »

You might want to look up that PS/2 mouse in the Linux kernel boot messages, and see if it mentions any options.

And then google them, might shine some light on things.
Post Reply