Pipecom for FreeBASIC!

Windows specific questions.
Balderdash

Pipecom for FreeBASIC!

Post by Balderdash »

I had written a little utility for QB64 a while back that I called "pipecom". It allowed me to run a command and grab the exit code, stdout, and stderr all in one go without use of any files. I've been looking into FreeBASIC and I noticed it had the "OPEN PIPE" command. Unfortunately, it doesn't really work for me as it doesn't grab stderr. However, I have decided to rewrite pipecom for FreeBASIC for those who might have been wanting something that does this. I am a newbie to FreeBASIC so the code might not be quite up to snuff. Right now, I've only written it for Windows but I will also write the version for Linux, once I get FreeBASIC up on WSL2. I hope this code is helpful for someone out there. Right now, the example I am doing is calling PowerShell to open a file dialog. The cmd string can be replaced with whatever you want.

Code: Select all

#define UNICODE
#include once "windows.bi"

type PIPE_STRUCT
   as DWORD exitCode
   as string _stdout, _stderr
end type

declare function pipecom overload (cmd as string) as PIPE_STRUCT
declare function pipecom (cmd as string, byref _stdout as string, byref _stderr as string) as DWORD
declare function StrRemove (byref s as string, ch as ubyte) as string

dim as string cmd = "PowerShell -NoProfile Add-Type -AssemblyName System.Windows.Forms;$FileBrowser = New-Object System.Windows.Forms.OpenFileDialog -Property @{ Title = '" +_
 Chr(34) + "Select a FreeBASIC file" + Chr(34) +_
 "'; InitialDirectory = '" + Chr(34) + ".\" +_
  Chr(34) + "'; Filter = '" + Chr(34) + "FreeBASIC Files (*.bas, *.bi)|*.BAS;*.BI|All Files (*.*)|*.*" + Chr(34) +_
   "'; FilterIndex = '" + Chr(34) + LTrim(Str(0)) + Chr(34) +_
    "'; };$null = $FileBrowser.ShowDialog();$FileBrowser.FileName;exit $LASTEXITCODE"

with pipecom(cmd)
   print .exitCode
   print ._stdout
end with

sleep