Beginners using FreeBASIC and FbEdit have no "fbc.exe"

New to FreeBASIC? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
Teabag
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 24, 2024 13:34
Location: Germany

Beginners using FreeBASIC and FbEdit have no "fbc.exe"

Post by Teabag »

After downloading the FreeBASIC for 32bit or 64bit PC's you have to change the Build Options in fbEdit!

Change the "Command" at the bottom of the window from "fbc -s console" to "fbcXX -s console"
where "XX" is 32 or 64 depending on your PC

It took me an hour to trace to the problem after my first installation of FreeBASIC and FbEdit
and wondering why I could not compile even the "hello.bas" example!
fxm
Moderator
Posts: 12177
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: Beginners using FreeBASIC and FbEdit have no "fbc.exe"

Post by fxm »

Because you have downloaded a combined 32bit and 64bit FreeBASIC version (containing both fbc32.exe and fbc64.exe).
If you download a 32bit only or 64bit only FreeBASIC version, each contains a single fbc.exe (either for 32bit or 64bit).
Teabag
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 24, 2024 13:34
Location: Germany

Re: Beginners using FreeBASIC and FbEdit have no "fbc.exe"

Post by Teabag »

I downloaded the 64bit only FreeBASIC version.
fxm
Moderator
Posts: 12177
Joined: Apr 22, 2009 12:46
Location: Paris suburbs, FRANCE

Re: Beginners using FreeBASIC and FbEdit have no "fbc.exe"

Post by fxm »

Have you dowloaded your version from this Version 1.10.1 Released page?
Post Reply