Game Development: Square One

Game development specific discussions.
aleofjax

Game Development: Square One

Post by aleofjax »

First of all, hello to everyone here. I've been lurking around this forum for several weeks now, and I figured I might as well get in on the conversation. I love taking part in active communities like this.

As for my topic, I've noticed that you have several game building compos on the board, so it seems some of you have got tile based game design down to a pretty efficient science. I'd realy like to get in on the action here, but I'm having trouble figuring out where to start. I taught myself QBasic years ago from the help files, I studied c++ and java in college, and I picked up some windows programming while trying futiley to teach myself Direct3D from a book.

What I'd like to see is a step by step tutorial for building something like a tile based RPG - i.e. Phantasy Star. Something that covers everything from conception to final build. I'm sure I have the technical ability to figure out any one of the steps for myself, but my weakness is in the planning. I have dozens of projects where I created a couple of functions and types, then got stuck and moved on to something else. If I could build an RPG in 30 days, I would do it all the time. I just need to know the process.

If something out there already covers this, could you point me in the right direction? Otherwise, maybe this could be a project for some of the forum members to collaborate on, to help out desparate n00bs like myself.

Thanks!
E.K.Virtanen

Post by E.K.Virtanen »

Personally i dont like those "Create game in 30 days" tutorials. You just follow tutorial, but do you learn anything actually?
Creating a rpg is a huge task, even with smaller story lines. It is easy to figure out some neat functions, create even more neat functions yourself, but putting these peaces in places to get a runnable and playable game is something totally else.